Archive for December 28, 2007

Video Of the Week

Posted in Culture, House Dance, Music with tags , , , on December 28, 2007 by sunthank

Every Friday I’m going to try and post a video of the week. Usually a music video that stands out as unique and creatively exalted amongst its peers. Something that is visually and aesthetically pleasing and/or musically brilliant. Last week was the post of Stevie Wonder on Sesame Street and the 6 year old back up dancer that simply exemplified his music with her funk’d out moves. This week is a video that most of you should know but none the less deserves the post. It is genious in its way it has pushed the envelope in making a music video. Though many have done this style before, especially such groups as Daft Punk, no group has gotten such play as this weeks Video of the Week. It’s Justice with their song D.A.N.C.E.

A Step Back Into Time: 1950 Nuclear Holocaust

Posted in Blogging, Culture, History with tags , , , , , on December 28, 2007 by sunthank

While in Reno I had an amazing opportunity to take part in this tour of an old 1950’s bomb shelter. It was underneath the Reno Library (You must keep in your mind that Reno is in the middle of the Nevada desert which should bring to mind the nuclear testing that was done not too far from the area.) but was actually built before the library during that period in our nations history when nuclear holocaust seemd inevitable. Getting to it was rather different in that we had to go inside the actual library, get down to its basement, find this incredibly small airvent, open it up and crawl through to what spilled out into this cement corridor. Not there yet. This part of the journey weeded out a lot of the would be explorers. There is still some light from the library seeping in but we then had to take this cold, rusty ladder down about ten or eleven feet to what was a much colder and much darker corridor. Images of London during WWII started playing through my mind, the city above being demolished and taken away and me and my family down underground, stuck in this cold dark cement coffin not knowing what to expect and what would come of my return to the world above.
To the imediate left was this long circular corridor which seemed to evaporate into darkness with this eerie breeze coming out of nowhere. I would shine my much needed flashlight down the hall and its beam could not find the end.
I knew that if I went down that path the “Dark-lovers” from I AM LEGEND would be following my every move waiting for me to seperate from the group and devour me in a violent death.
Didn’t happen though and the tour, actually, carried on. It was really cool. There was still about a years worth of rations for survival all according to the U.S. government of 1950. The sleeping bags had solidified and the water had gone. What was mostly left was rock candy, flavors “blue” and “red”, which the tour guide said tasted like disgusting chemicals. My sisters and I decided to see what it would be like living there when the flashlight batteries died out. That lasted for about two seconds and and resulted in piercing loud screams from my youngest sister. Needless to say the rest of the tour didn’t think it was as funny as I did.
Leaving the bomb shelter was like leaving a paranoid nation of a by gone era that loomed on a total apocalypse and stepping into a nation just as paranoid today.
So if you’re ever in the Reno area, make sure you go by to the City Library and ask if you can take a tour of their freaky bomb shelter. It’s definitly worth it.

Been Traveling and Without Internet

Posted in Blog, Blogging with tags on December 28, 2007 by sunthank

The title explains it all, but I’m now able to write, write, write and post. Maybe I’ll put up 5 posts in one day? who knows, I’m feeling adventurous. Stay tuned…